eat.sweet


Grilling season
April 5, 2010, 8:51 pm
Filed under: Recipe

Our weather went from really crappy (historic flooding) to 80 degrees overnight.  I used the bbq grill all weekend long and it was fun.  Tried grilling par-boiled potatoes – they were soo good.  I sprinkled them with wild chives that I picked from the side of a walking trail; ate them and didn’t die, so I guess that’s good.

Here’s a recipe for fish tacos I tried that were really good and low fat.  You need to add a lot of flavor to make up for the fact that the fish isn’t battered and deep-fried.

Fish Tacos (4 servings)
1/2 of a lime
1 cup chopped tomatoes
1 jalapeno, finely chopped, de-seeded if you wish
1 shallot, finely chopped
1/3 cup cilantro, finely chopped
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt
2 Tbsp mayo
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 lb tilapia filets
chili powder
salt, pepper
1 avocado, cut into eighths
8 small whole-wheat tortillas

1. Squeeze the juice from the half-lime into a bowl. Half of the juice will go into the salsa, half into the yogurt sauce. Heat the grill or pan on medium-high.
2. Make salsa: Mix half of the lime juice, tomatoes, cilantro, jalapeno, and 1/4 tsp salt in a bowl and set it aside.
3. Make the yogurt sauce: Mix the yogurt, mayo, and remaining lime juice.
4. If pan-frying, add the olive oil to the pan. If grilling, brush the oil on the fish. Cut the fish into wide taco-sized pieces (about 2″ x 4″). Season

    liberally

with chili powder, salt, pepper (but be careful w/the salt if your chili powder already has salt on it). I thought I put a lot of chili powder, but it could’ve used even more. Cook the fish about 3 minutes per side until browned.
5. Serve! Top your taco with the homemade salsa, lime sauce, avocado, and an extra squirt of lime. Two tacos comes out to 300-ish calories.

The original recipe, which I got from a magazine, said to mix some of the yogurt sauce w/shredded cabbage to make a slaw but it was really bland. I would’ve rather eaten just a salad. Also, I think the homemade salsa works better than store bought because store bought would be too strong and cover up the rest of the flavors.

Cheers to grilling season. I haven’t had much experience cooking on the grill but my summer resolution is to do it more. And cheers to mojito season! I picked up a big bottle of rum on my recent trip to New Hampshire, where booze is wayy cheaper, and I’m looking forward to mojitos in the courtyard.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

