eat.sweet


La Laiterie at Farmstead
September 14, 2008, 9:38 pm
Filed under: Restaurant | Tags:

Dinner @ La Laiterie in Providence

Me: “Grilled Cheese” made of Fig Jam, Goat Cheese, & Mixed Greens; Polenta Fries w/Aioli; House Pickles ($12)

Him: Chicken with Risotto of Mascarpone Cheese and Chantrelle Mushrooms ($?)

I want to share with you all of the cool things I get to eat, but I think I’ll do less “critiquing” about it. I always feel like I come off sounding like a pretentious ass.

I adore “bistro” dining. I wanted to be a little bit daring that night, and almost considering trying foie gras (never had it before) or the pig heart appetizer. Yes, pig heart. But I stepped back a little and chose the Grilled Sardine with Black Pepper Honey & Grilled Lemon as my “adventurous” appetizer. What thrills me most about “bistro” and small plates dining is the way that they mix flavors together that I could never do at home, and the way that there are only a few bites of food that pack in so many different layers. The salty sardine with the black pepper honey together were yummy, but give it a dip in the lemon and it was… complete.

I think this will be one of my favorite places in town. They also have two shops that sell artisanal cheeses & house-made charcuterie stuff, which they also serve at the restaurant . Did I mention I also heart cheese? Then there’s the events/classes such as “Scotch ‘n Cheese” and “Stinky Cheese & New England Beers.” It is a very nice place to take a date; just avoid the stinky cheeses and that garlic aioli.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

La Laiterie is definitely one of my favorites in Prov. Chez Pascal, New Rivers, and Gracies are my other favorite $$$ restaurants.

Comment by Malyna




Leave a Reply

