eat.sweet


Shopping Day
September 10, 2008, 2:55 pm
Filed under: Shopping Day

I’m feeling more organized in the kitchen now. I have finally planned out a week of balanced meals and kept track of what I spent. Grocery shopping is a little harder than it was before but I won’t go into details. We’ve got busy schedules and only one car, which B uses Monday, Wednesday Friday. We were low on food and on time to shop, so I ended up doing the shopping this week without a car. My only bus/walk accessible options are farmers’ markets and one independent local grocery store. I could get to a Whole Foods but I might have to take more than one bus. I might have to look into that though, because the local grocery store was sooo expensive – even more expensive than Whole Foods! I also wanted to get scallops, but the little market didn’t even have them. I probably couldn’t have afforded them anyway.

This week I spent about $55 on groceries. That’s not too bad, I guess, but I think I might be short one or two dinners, and I had to think really carefully about how to stretch ingredients.

$24 @ farmers’ market
eggplants (3)
zucchini (1)
yellow squash (2)
green onions
garlic (3)
pint of cherry tomatoes
red bell peppers (3)
dozen eggs (they were collected this morning! and they cost the same as organic eggs @ WF)

$30 @ local marketplace
mozzarella cheese (national brand, not even local)
Puffins cereal
elbows macaroni ($1.50 for a brand that is always on sale @ big stores for $1)
baby spinach
deli cheddar cheese
deli ham
bread
oreos
lemons (3) (non-organic, non-local lemons, and they were $1 each! ouch)

The Menu (Tuesday – Tuesday)

– Red pepper, Goat Cheese, Sun-Dried Tomato Omelettes with salad
– Burgers (from freezer), Spinach Orzo salad
Ditalini pasta, salad or squash (2 days)
– Marinated Grilled Vegetables, Lemon Spaghetti (2 or 3 days)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

