eat.sweet


This Week’s Menu
September 2, 2008, 3:17 pm
Filed under: Shopping Day

It’s a big week for me! I used up the last of my food stamps, so I will no longer have the benefits. Also, I start school this week, I’m starting to shop at the farmer’s market and plan my menu’s around it, and I’m roasting a pork tenderloin for the first time.

A couple of weeks ago, pork tenderloin was on super-sale and we got a 2.5 lb (tried to find the smallest roast) for less than $5. I already had it in the freezer, so I don’t want to defrost it and freeze it again. My strategy is to cut it in half, cook it and eat it for dinner, then the next day cook the other half, rather than cooking the entire thing and having to eat the dried out leftovers for many days. I wonder if there’s a soup recipe or something I can put the leftovers in, because I know it’s going to be a lot of meat.

I lost my receipts, but we spent $45 this week (including farmer’s market stuff & the roast). I’m going to get back in the habit of tracking that.

The Menu

Tuesday & Wednesday – Ratatouille over linguini and NEW YORK TIMES COOKIES for dessert; Over a month after moving in, I finally went to a farmer’s market today. I spent about $6 on enough veggies for a vegetarian meal that will have at least 6 servings. Yay!

Thursday & Friday – Bacon-wrapped Pork Roast, potatoes, green beans

Saturday – out

Sunday & Monday – same pork roast

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

