eat.sweet


Back in the Kitchen
August 5, 2008, 4:29 pm
Filed under: Life | Tags:

I’m all moved in at my new house and trying to get back into cooking, which I haven’t been doing much of for the past month. You see, for the 2-3 weeks before our move, we were eating out a lot more with the excuses “We need to eat at [xxx] before we leave” and “We already packed up most of the kitchen stuff.” Then for the 2  weeks after we moved to our new place, I’ve been away for a few days here and there and still trying to get settled so still not cooking much.

But we finally did a full grocery shop for this week and I will be cooking again. On the menu is baked falafel (w/store made pita, homemade tzatziki sauce, veggies) and rigatoni with sausage, peppers, onions & ricotta. And Tiramisu Cupcakes!

To break in the new-to-me kitchen, I made a 2nd recipe out of the Vegan Cupcakes cookbook: Tiramisu cupcakes. Aren’t they adorable? More about the recipe after the jump…

tiramisu mini cake

mini tiramisu

The basic vegan yellow cupcake was one of the best yellow cupcake recipes I’ve made: lightly spongy, not many crumbs falling off, and not too sweet (though still more sweet than the chiffon cupcakes). It did lack a certain… fragrant-ness though. I don’t know how to explain it, but other (usually more crumb-y) cake recipes have stronger vanilla smells and this one didn’t have as much. I made them with canola oil instead of butter/vegan shortening, so maybe using a solid fat would add that aroma & flavor. The texture of this cake is perfect for a tiramisu variety though. Anything lighter (such as box mix cakes) would have turned to mush.

I didn’t like the Vegan Cream Cheese frosting. It didn’t have enough cream cheese flavor for my taste. It was also gritty, but that’s probably my fault for not beating it enough. I tend to do that. I left out the shaved chocolate, and it was sorely missed. I won’t leave that out next time.

The other part that makes it “tiramisu” is the coffee. You cut out a hole in the top of the cupcake and pour in a little bit of coffee + kahlua mixture, add a little frosting, and put the cap back on. The recipe says to use “Up to 2 Tablespoons” of the coffee mixture in each cake, and I only used about 2 tsp thinking it seemed like too much. But next time I’d say go ahead and do 1.5 – 2 Tbsp because the dense cake could have absorbed even more for more flavor.

Overall though, the cupcakes were delicious. They just weren’t packed with rich flavor like something you would get out of a bakery. But I think that with some edits – a better frosting, real espresso for the coffee, and good chocolate shavings and they definitely will be bakery quality.

I didn’t blog about it, but the 1st recipe out of the book was Chocolate Mint cupcakes and they were the bomb. I wouldn’t change a thing about them.

Oh, and I’m very happy with my new oven even though it looks ’80’s with its analog clock and fake wood trim). Not only is it way bigger than my last oven, but I set the oven for 350 and it actually stayed at 350 degrees, unlike my previous oven that would fluctuate 100 degrees in one sitting .

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

