eat.sweet


Polenta
July 15, 2008, 9:49 pm
Filed under: Recipe, Restaurant

We just cooked our last meal in our current apartment. We’re actually moving next Monday, but we’ll be too busy to cook from now on. Our final meal? Blue cheese and roasted red pepper polenta, topped with tomato basil sauce. It sounds so fancy, I can’t believe we made it at home. It was delicious. I don’t think I’ve ever even eaten polenta, let alone make it. Actually, Brian made it and I navigated directions. The polenta was lengthy, requiring constant attention and stirring, but we made it the night before to save some time. Today all I had to do was cut it into squares to saute, and make the sauce which was super easy. The polenta by itself had a really strong blue cheese flavor and was rich, but the tomato sauce and strong basil flavor balanced it out perfectly.

I’ve been cooking with that basil all week. I’ve ever made basil last through so many recipes. Usually I just make pesto with it, throw it in the freezer, and call it a day. We bought it on Saturday and made steak sandwiches with blue cheese and basil. Sunday, we made scallops with pasta, tomatoes, zucchini, and basil. Monday, salmon with basil topping. Tuesday (today) the polenta. I would make pizza with it tomorrow, but there’s still a ton of polenta left. Hooray for basil!

Someone took me out to lunch today. We went to the highly overrated, “This is where college kids bring their parents” restaurant called Judie’s. I ordered half of a fried soft-shell crab, on top of a mini-burrito stuffed with goat cheese, black beans, and carmelized onions and the whole dish was topped with fruit salsa. It was decent but just too… much. Too loud, kind of generically salty tasting. Judie’s is kind of like the dining version of Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream. They just throw a bunch of crap together, call it “premium” and sometimes it’s appealing in that trashy way. Don’t get me wrong, there wasn’t anything exactly wrong with my meal but people talk about this place like it’s amazing, but you can get much better food for the same price right across the street. My crab lunch cost $15, which is the same as the lunch entrees at Chez Albert. But if I had suggested lunch at “The Chez,” people would’ve been like “ooohhhhhhmygosh that’s tooooo expensive.” Well good. Let those people go to Judie’s and leave the tables at The Chez open for me.

**edit** The next day for breakfast, I fried up some polenta and topped it with a sunny-side up egg, salsa, and hot sauce. I don’t think there’s any breakfast place in the Valley where you could get something like that.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I like the popovers at Judie’s. Never got a chance to go to Chez’s though.

Comment by Malyna




Leave a Reply

