eat.sweet


Farmers’ Market
July 12, 2008, 2:14 pm
Filed under: Shopping Day

As much as I enjoy the idea, I rarely shop at the farmers’ market. I need to plan my meals & recipes and then go shopping, and that’s much harder to do when I’m never sure what will be at the market. Plus, I can’t use food stamps there.

But this morning, the smell of the fresh basil & garlic were just too much to resist. I bought a bouquet of basil, a pint of baby squash (so cute!) and a beautiful (and expensive) loaf of artisan bread. We have some leftover steak in the fridge I think we might use the bread to make steak sandwiches for lunch. As for the basil, I’m thinking margherita pizza, orzo salad, and simple pasta with basil & tomatoes. I’m going to look up recipes for other things to do with basil besides pasta.

I didn’t have my camera with me, but a restaurant had a little food stand where they were serving up fried squash blossom stuffed with goat cheese & other things. It was only $3 for one and all I wanted was a taste because I’ve never eaten a squash flower before. The squash flowers were a pretty orangey-yellow color, but they didn’t taste too “flowery.” It was very subtle. The goat cheese filling was a strong flavor, and I like the combination of green onions + goat cheese. I’m glad I got to try it. I also had their lavender mint iced tea. So good. Lavender really rounds out the mint nicely. I wish I could grow mint because I love mint tea.

I’m moving in about a week and after that I can do more farmers’ market shopping. I won’t be on the food stamps anymore, and Providence has tons of different markets; there’s probably one somewhere every day of the week.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

