eat.sweet


Shopping Day
April 22, 2008, 10:08 pm
Filed under: Shopping Day

I made bad choices this week.  

$78 @ Whole Foods
– brown rice
– split peas
– yeast
– vegetable broth
– cereal
– cooking spray
– sun dried tomatoes
– wheat thins type crackers
– garbanzo beans
– diced tomatoes

– chicken leg (1/2 lb)
– cajun sausage (1/2 lb)
– celery
– rosemary
– white, shitake, and other weird mushrooms
– green pepper
– onion
– mesclun greens salad

– goat cheese
– parmesan cheese
– fontina cheese
– burger buns
– bread
– cheddar deli cheese
– deli ham

I only have $1 left on my food stamp card.  How embarrassing that it’s my first month of the blog and I’m going to go way past my budget!  I could have made better choices though.  For example, the sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil cost $7, while the plain dried stuff cost $4.  But I bought the ones in oil because they taste better and now I feel guilty.  Also, one of the recipes that I decided to make, Mushroom Pizza, turned out to be very expensive.  It didn’t occur to me when I chose the recipe.  I even used half the amount of mushrooms, less than half the amount of goat cheese they called for and omitted the prosciutto.  Here’s the rundown of the costs:

  • $6 for 1/2 lb of loose shitake, button, & wood-ear mushrooms
  • .75 for a packet of yeast
  • $4 for fontina cheese (I used the entire amount
  • $2 for goat cheese (half of the $4 log)
  • $1 for fresh rosemary (part of a $3 bunch; i don’t know what to do with the rest of it) 
  • plus the cost of parmesan cheese

$14, which made 3 personal-sized pizzas, one of which is in the freezer for next week.  I probably spent less than half of that to make 8 split pea burgers.  There’s a pizza place in town that does a delicious wild mushroom pizza and a large costs a few bucks more than what it cost me to make it.  Factor in the labor (it takes a long time to slice all those mushrooms and grate all of the cheese) and it’s probably cheaper just to buy it!  If you still want to try the recipe though, it’s very very good.  It was my first time using strange looking mushrooms, fresh rosemary (amazing!), and yeast to make my own dough yet everything was perfect.

I ate dinner out way more than usual this month yet I still went overbudget on groceries!  Between the $21 spent on pizza and sun-dried tomatoes, I could have had money leftover to get me through the end of the month. Thinking back on it, I think I usually do one full grocery shop per month at the non-organic grocery store, just out of convenience because it’s less crowded and open longer.  I didn’t do that this month, so maybe that’s what made my bill higher than usual?  Don’t worry, I won’t starve.  It just means a little less recreation money next week.  I’m just annoyed at not having better discipline.

The Menu

Monday – Mushroom and Three Cheese Pizza

Tuesday – Penne with Mixed Greens & Goat Cheese

Wednesday – leftovers

Thursday – crockpot jambalaya

Friday – leftovers

Saturday – homemade split-pea burgers

ideas for cheap eating the week after:  the last mushroom pizza, more split pea burgers, veggie stir fry, bean enchiladas.  I’m going to try to keep it under $30.  That way, I’ll be under $200 for the month, and an average of $50/wk for two people still sounds pretty good.
 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

