eat.sweet


Potato Leek Soup
April 15, 2008, 10:50 am
Filed under: Recipe

Emeril’s Potato Leek Soup recipe was a winner and a keeper. I wanted to eat the entire pot. We ate it with mixed baby greens salad and a Belgian style beer.  It wasone of the best meals I made in a while, and a great way to have soup of a beautiful Spring day.  What was also good was that this version doesn’t use any cream, but still tastes really creamy. Roughly divided, each serving had the equivalent of 1 strip of bacon and less than 1 teaspoon of butter, so I think the amount of fat in it is realistic. (I could totally be wrong though.)

My modifications:
– cut the recipe in half; it still made enough for 4 big servings
– used all chicken broth instead of beef
– left out the white wine
– used 4 strips of bacon instead of pancetta; next time I might even use less bacon.
– used 1 Tbsp of butter
– pureed in a food processor
– didn’t bother with the fried garnishes

Usually if I make a giant soup recipe, I freeze a bunch of it in smaller portions for later. This time I didn’t because potato-based soups tend to get really gross after you freeze them.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

