eat.sweet


Shopping Day
April 13, 2008, 4:52 pm
Filed under: Shopping Day

I spent about $65 this trip. I feel like I bought a lot of groceries this week, but I didn’t spend as much as I thought. I couldn’t get all of my ingredients at one store, so I ended up having to go to 3 different stores; But I went all in one trip, and they were all within a mile of each other anyway.

Items in green are organic, items in blue aren’t classified as organic but are advertised as hormone-free, antibiotic-free, preservative-free or some combination of those. Whole Foods is the specialty natural foods grocery, while Stop ‘n Shop is just a regular average giant grocery store.

$45.31 @ Whole Foods
Silk soymilk
chocolate chip cookies
quart of milk
cream cheese
raisin bran cereal
– annato seeds
frozen peas
eggs
bacon
baby greens salad mix
scallions
leeks
– onion
– shallot
– smoked salmon
sourdough bread
pepper jack deli cheese
smoked chicken deli cheese

$8.75 @ Stop ‘n Shop
– tomato sauce
– portobello mushrooms (2)
– red bell pepper
– 4 potatoes
chicken broth
– Goya Sazon seasoning

$2.50 @ Chinese market
– nori seaweed sheets

The Menu

Sunday – Portobello Mushroom & Roasted Red Pepper maki rolls, smoked salmon & cream cheese maki rolls, some spring rolls I have in the freezer.

Monday – Potato Leek Soup, salad

Tuesday – leftovers; I will probably keep eating the soup for lunch throughout the week.

Wednesday – Jerk Pork Chops with yellow rice and peas.  I had pork in the freezer.

Thursday – leftovers; I will only cook half of the pork chops on Wednesday and the other half on Thursday. This way we don’t have to eat dried out leftover meat.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

