eat.sweet


Chiffon Cupcakes
April 30, 2008, 10:48 pm
Filed under: Recipe

I love Good Eats and I love cupcakes so I was super excited about a brand new cupcake episode, especially since there hasn’t been a new one in many months.  I follow a few cupcake blogs but I had never heard of the Chiffon Cupcake method.  It involves beating egg whites and folding them into the batter.  I was pretty nervous about how this souffle-like cake would bake in my oven.  They came out lovely and perfectly domed, even though my oven was 25 degrees too hot whenever I checked the temp.

perfectly even cupcakes

The frosting recipe wasn’t posted on Food Network, so thank goodness for the DVR.  I had never heard of making buttercream this way.  Check this out:

 

  • 6 oz butter, room temperature
  • 2 oz vegetable shortening, room temperature
  • 1 egg, also room temperature
  • 1 pound of powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Beat the butter & shortening together with the mixer on high until they are well blended.  Add the egg and beat until it is combined, about 2 minutes.  Turn the mixer to low and add the sugar in 1/2 cup increments, waiting until the portion is all worked in before adding more.  When you’re done adding the sugar, add the vanilla.  Beat on medium high for 3 mins, until it is light and fluffy. 

Yes, it has a raw egg in it. I don’t really like buttercream frosting that much; I prefer whipped cream or cream cheese style but this one was good! It wasn’t grainy or gritty at all, and didn’t taste like it would melt your teeth off (though in reality, it still would).  It was so much lighter and tastier than all of the other buttercreams that are just butter + sugar + milk.  

Alton Brown told us the history of the cupcake and encouraged us to bake them in actual cups – a cup-cake.  How novel!  Even though my mugs don’t say “oven safe” everything worked out fine.  These coffee mugs hold 6oz, which is enough for a small cup of coffee or a Texas-sized (or bakery sized) cupcake.  (I was not able to eat the entire cup-cake)

This was also my first time using my sweet Wilton cake frosting tips set, which I got at Michael’s for $4.  It was pretty easy to get the hang of.  I think it was harder to figure out how to fill the pastry bag without making a mess than it was to make the swirls.

Taste:  The cake had a great texture, the best I’ve ever made.  Crumbs weren’t falling all over the place, but it wasn’t spongy like angel food cake either.  The taste was different though.  It wasn’t very sweet; kind of salty or savory.  I didn’t notice it under sweetness the frosting, but I still think I will cut back on the salt next time.  I realized that my theory on cupcakes is this:  A good cupcake will taste totally amazing at first bite and you’ll enjoy every second of eating it, but you might struggle with the last bite and you definitely don’t want to have room for another one right away.  What do you think?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[...] It’s a week for delicious desserts in small containers: LLoydAndLauren freeze mudslide pies in tiny jars. Not Martha bakes pies in tiny jars. And eat.sweet bucks the trend to make a cupcake in a coffee cup. [...]

Pingback by shelterrific » Blog Archive » blogwatch: where we’ve been clicking this week

This is fantastic! I’m going to add the cupcake in a coffee-mug to my to-do list. Thank you.

Comment by Smiddlemore

[...] lightly spongy, not many crumbs falling off, and not too sweet (though still more sweet than the chiffon cupcakes). It did lack a certain… fragrant-ness though. I don’t know how to explain it, but [...]

Pingback by Back in the Kitchen « eat.sweet

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE FROSTING RECIPE. I was looking for it everywhere! Such a bummer that it wasn’t posted on the Food Network website.

Comment by Jennifer

These may be good, but they are not chiffon if you use butter. Chiffon cake uses oil instead of butter/shortening…

Comment by John Denver




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

